Critical Care

In Critical Care, it takes strength, compassion and desire to learn.
In critical times, greatness is defined.

We offer several ICU settings for nursing. Ronald Regan UCLA Medical Center allows our nurses to focus on one particular specialty, while UCLA Medical Center, Santa Monica provides the chance to care for a wide variety of ICU patients in our Medical/Surgical Adult ICU.

Critical Care units at Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center include: Cardiothoracic Intensive Care Unit; Coronary Care Intensive Care Unit; Medical Intensive Care Unit; Neurosurgery/Trauma Intensive Care Unit and a Transplant/Surgical Intensive Care Unit.

back to top

At UCLA Health, we achieve excellence in patient care consistently by following the steps outlined in CICARE.

CICARE is an acronym that describes specific behaviors that are guaranteed to result in excellent communication with patients, families and colleagues.

Every UCLA Health employee, physician and volunteer holds themselves and their colleagues accountable for practicing these six steps with everyone on every encounter.

Click on the above to learn more about CICARE.


Please confirm that you
agree with CICARE

Connect with the patient and their family members by addressing them as Mr./Ms., or by the name they prefer.

Introduce yourself and your role.

Communicate what you are going to do, how long it is going to take, and how it will impact the patient.

Ask permission before examining the patient and anticipate patient and/or family needs, questions or concerns.

Respond to patient and/or family questions and requests with immediacy.

Exit courteously and/or with an explanation of what will come next (or when you will be back to check on them).